Knife Rights

Knife Rights Action Alert: Georgia length-limit up for a vote. Please call or write today!

It has been a multi-year process to transform Georgia’s knife laws from a patchwork of local restrictions to among the best in the nation. Knife Rights has been there leading every step of the way, and now they are asking for you a bit of help as they seek to change the blade length restriction from 5″ to 12″. Apparently a quirk in Georgia law makes this an easier legislative lift than a full repeal.

If you live, work, or travel in the Peach State, please call or email the Senators listed below the jump, and politely ask that they support the bill.

From Knife Rights:

Flaf Bar 499 pixels

Georgia Knife Law Reform Bill to Committee
ACTION ALERT: CALL & EMAIL TODAY!
 

Knife Rights’ Georgia Knife Law Reform bill, SB 49, that would increase the legal carry length of a knife blade in the state from 5.5 inches to 12 inches, has been sent to the Senate Public Safety Committee.

If you live, work or travel in Georgia, or plan to (like to BLADE Show in Atlanta), please CALL or EMAIL the committee members TODAY and simply deliver the message that you are calling or emailing to respectfully request that they please VOTE YES on SB 49, an important criminal justice reform bill, and then thank them. Please be POLITE and RESPECTFUL and REMAIN ON POINT.

If emailing, use the SUBJECT: Please VOTE YES on SB 49

Here is whom to contact:

Sen. Tyler Harper – Chairman: (404) 463-5263  or Tyler.Harper@senate.ga.gov
Sen. John Albers – Vice Chairman: (404) 463-8055 or info@senatoralbers.com
Sen. Lee Anderson: (404) 656-5114 or lee.anderson@senate.ga.gov
Sen. Tonya Anderson: (404) 463-2598 or tonya.anderson@senate.ga.gov
Sen. Harold Jones: (404) 463-3942 or harold.jones@senate.ga.gov
Sen. Chuck Payne: (404) 463-5402 or chuck.payne@senate.ga.gov
Sen. Valencia Seay: (404) 656-5095 or valencia.seay@senate.ga.gov
Sen. Michael Williams: (404) 656-7127 or michael.williams@senate.ga.gov
Efforts to completely eliminate the carry length limit have been stymied due to the manner in which a knife is defined in Georgia law. This will make life much better for knife owners in Georgia without hampering future efforts to completely eliminate the carry length limit at some future opportunity.
Flaf Bar 499 pixels

Since I fall into the “travel to Georgia” category, I intend to send the following in an email to the folks above. Feel free to use it as a template for your own correspondence, changing as applicable.


Dear Senator,

I am writing to you as a Tennessean who makes an annual “pilgrimage” to Atlanta each year for the BLADE Show. It is not uncommon for me to be in possession of knives that exceed your legal blade length of 5″, either bringing down myself or purchasing at the show. My TN handgun permit (with GA reciprocity – thank you for that btw) means I am not in violation of the law, but others are not necessarily so fortunate.

I am writing to ask you to please support SB 49, which will increase the blade length limit from 5″ to 12″. I feel that this change is important to ensure that honest and otherwise law-abiding citizens do not inadvertently run afoul of this restriction.

I thank you for your thoughtful consideration in this matter.

Sincerely,

H. Clay Aalders
Knoxville, TN

 


Please call or write today. Let’s get this done.

Discussion

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *