Knife Rights

URGENT from Knife Rights: Georgia length-limit bill needs help

Apparently there is a final snag to getting the Georgia blade-carry length-limit raised from 5″ to 12″. According to Knife Rights, if the bill is not passed out of the Rules Committee and brought to the whole Senate for a vote by Friday, it will cease to be. People who are planning on visiting the BLADE Show are particularly encouraged to contact the committee, even though they will visiting from out of state. Let’s help Doug and the gang get this done.

From Knife Rights:

February 28, 2017: Knife Rights’ Georgia Knife Law Reform bill, SB 49, that would increase the legal carry length of a knife blade in the state from 5.5 inches to 12 inches needs to be voted on by the full Senate by Friday or it will die. We need to get the RULES Committee to release the bill for a vote.

If you live, work or travel in Georgia, or plan to (like to BLADE Show in Atlanta), please CALL or EMAIL the RULES Committee Members TODAY and simply deliver the message that you are calling or emailing to respectfully request that they please pass SB 49 out of the Rules Committee, so that it may be voted on by the full Senate, and then thank them. Please be POLITE and RESPECTFUL and REMAIN ON POINT.

CLICK on “Read More >>>>” for Phone Numbers and Email Addresses of RULES Committee Members.

If emailing, use the SUBJECT: Please Move SB 49

Sen. Jeff Mullis (Chairman) – (404) 656-0057 – jeff.mullis@senate.ga.gov
Sen. Jack Hill (Vice Chairman) – (404) 656-5038 – jack.hill@senate.ga.gov
Sen. Fran Millar – (404) 463-2260 – Fran.Millar@senate.ga.gov
Sen. Bill Cowsert – (404) 463-1366 – bill.cowsert@senate.ga.gov
Sen. Steve Gooch – (404) 656-9221 – steve.gooch@senate.ga.gov
Sen. Hunter Hill – (404) 463-2518 – Hunter.Hill@senate.ga.gov
Sen. John Kennedy – (404) 656-0045 – john.kennedy@senate.ga.gov
Sen. David Shafer – (404) 656-0048 – david.shafer@senate.ga.gov
Sen. John Wilkinson – (404) 463-5257 – john.wilkinson@senate.ga.gov
Sen. Gloria S. Butler – (404) 656-0075 – gloria.butler@senate.ga.gov
Sen. Steve Henson – (404) 656-0085 – stevehenson@mindspring.com
Sen. Butch Miller – (404) 656-7454 – butch.miller@senate.ga.gov
Sen. Horacena Tate – (404) 463-8053 – horacena.tate@senate.ga.gov
Sen. Curt Thompson – (404) 463-1318 – curt@curtthompson.com
Sen. Renee Unterman – (404) 463-1368 – Renee.Unterman@senate.ga.gov

OR paste the following into your email “TO” field:

jeff.mullis@senate.ga.gov, jack.hill@senate.ga.gov, Fran.Millar@senate.ga.gov, bill.cowsert@senate.ga.gov, steve.gooch@senate.ga.gov, Hunter.Hill@senate.ga.gov, john.kennedy@senate.ga.gov, david.shafer@senate.ga.gov, john.wilkinson@senate.ga.gov, gloria.butler@senate.ga.gov, stevehenson@mindspring.com, butch.miller@senate.ga.gov, horacena.tate@senate.ga.gov, curt@curtthompson.com, Renee.Unterman@senate.ga.gov

Efforts to completely eliminate the carry length limit have been stymied due to the manner in which a knife is defined in Georgia law. This will make life much better for knife owners in Georgia without hampering future efforts to completely eliminate the carry length limit at some future opportunity.

 

Discussion

One response to “URGENT from Knife Rights: Georgia length-limit bill needs help

  1. How do they define a knife in Georgia? I am one state down, and I am working on a blade that is 12 inches long, done picked up the steel, but need to locate a forge and melt it down into a useable piece of steel.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *